Happy Fish MadL

Man did I have fun with this toy. So large and yet so different than customizing munnys. It’s not that easy to snag a 10 inch blank MadL. They are rare and hard to find. When I was able to aquire it, I immediately set out to come up with a design that would suit it’s unique shape. Katsushika Hokusai’s Great Wave woodblock print seemed to swim around my frontal lobe so I seized on that and tried to encorporate a Japanese and aquatic theme throughout. Staying true to my animation roots, the piece is somber, yet cartoony at the same time. The faces are what I deem most important in my pieces. The details are there, although not in the same numbers as I usually bring. I wanted the details to stand out and give the weary observer a chance to rest inbetween eye candy rushes. As usual, I used acrylic paints, pen and ink, prismacolor pencils, and a nice thick coat of polyurethane to wash it down. Japanese culture and art are great tools for thinking outside of the western box.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

