Cigar Box Purses

Remember what I said about portable art. Nothing tells more about a woman than the purse they choose to take along for the ride. When I started working on these purses, I did not realize how much work was involved. You not only have to design six sides, you also have to consider the inside of the purse. For this piece, I had my wife pad and sew fabric on the interior that would make design sense to the exterior. I tried to make the design as unglamorous as possible. Art is not necessarily a pretty thing. Although with my eye on detail, it might let your eyes wander a bit.  My wife’s nick name is Ning, so I included that in this design. (as I have in many others) The clown worm driver might have been more appropriate. These cigar boxes are fun to create, but they take too much time. They have helped me grow as an artist and toy maker, and for that I salute them.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

