Lil’ Pepperoni

Back in the 1990’s when my wife and I would visit Florida once a year on vacation, we would often scope out the local flea markets. It was there the two of us discovered Oaxacan wood carvings from Mexico. They are highly detailed pieces of sculpture. Mostly animals, but sometimes manimals. I was intrigued. Animals with human faces trick the mind. We see what looks illogical, but it still seems to make sense, since the brain will readily recognize the facial features of man. I started collecting these small wonders and in 2007, when my wife started to created these from sculpey, we produced some fantastic creatures together. Lil’ pepperoni was one of her first attempts with the polymer clay. The face and the body are so funny. I can say this cuz I didn’t create it. I merely painted and detailed the toy. These eventually led to creating one of a kind toys.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

