Mr Raygun

raygun sketchblank raygunI like a good challenge and my friend asked me to design a ray gun. Seeing that I have numerous rocket ships to work with, I developed a design with these ships in mind. I really was looking for a classic retro look ala Buck Rogers. I had to cut the circuits so the gun wouldn’t blast through the paper box enclosing it. It is basically a mash up between an old star wars gun and a wooden rocket ship. I literally had to pull parts of the gun apart and then seem it together with some duck tape and spit and polish. You didn’t think that I’d make a toy without a face on it did you? Shame Shame… The gun took me out of my comfort zone and I had to think outside the box to figure out structure, design, and workability. I’m pleased that I did what I had set out to do. And that was to create a recognizable, but original ray gun and have to stay true to it’s ancestral retro look.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

